The conference on Theoretical Foundations of Machine Learning (TFML 2019) will take place in Kraków, Poland, on February 11-15, 2019. We invite submissions of papers addressing theoretical aspects of machine learning and related topics. We are especially interested in theoretically motivated perspectives on these areas:
  • algorithms: active learning, representation learning, semi-supervised learning, supervised learning, unsupervised learning
  • cheminformatics: activity prediction, drug design
  • computational complexity of learning
  • deep learning: adversarial networks, attention models, computer vision, generative models, natural language processing, speech recognition
  • neuroscience and cognitive science
  • optimization methods
  • reinforcement learning

Conference is organized by Department of Machine Learning, Institute of Computer Science and Computational Mathematics, Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science, Jagiellonian University.

Invited speakers

Andreas Bender, University of Cambridge
Wojciech Czarnecki, DeepMind
Asja Fischer, Ruhr-University Bochum
Krzysztof Geras, New York University
Emtiyaz Khan, RIKEN
Thomas Kipf, University of Amsterdam
Razvan Pascanu, DeepMind
Ilya Tolstikhin, Google AI


The conference will take place at Jagiellonian University, at the Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science, Cracow, Łojasiewicza 6.


Key dates

  • research paper submission - 30 Nov 2018
  • extended abstract submission - 21 Dec 2018
  • volunteer applications - 21 Dec 2018
  • research paper decision notification - 5 Jan 2019
  • extended abstract decision notification - 5 Jan 2019
  • volunteer applications notification - 5 Jan 2019
  • research paper camera ready version - 11 Jan 2019
  • registration 5-19 Jan 2019
  • conference - 11-15 Feb 2019


There will be three registration options:
  • normal (presentations, lunch, coffee breaks, gala diner) - 800 PLN
  • reduced (presentations, coffee breaks) - 200 PLN
  • volunteered (presentations, lunch, coffee breaks) - 0 PLN (limited number of places, volunteers will be expected to help with registration, coffee breaks, poster sessions and other organizational tasks)

Call for papers

TFML features two tracks:
  • research paper, which will be peer reviewed and after acceptance and presentation during the TFML conference published in Schedae Informaticae Journal.
  • (new) extended abstract (ideal for students and companies), to be presented as a poster or short talk. We encourage submissions of preeliminary results and original ideas. Presentation will be based on a light review of an extended abstract.
Extended versions of the three best papers will be recommended to publish in AMCS - International Journal of Applied Mathematics and Computer Science (IF 1.694, 25 points in the evaluation procedure of the Polish Ministry of Science and Higher Education), where they will go through the regular journal review process. Publication fee will be covered by the conference organizers.

Submission format

All submissions should be prepared in English, according to the Schedae Informaticae template. Page limits are as follows:
  • research paper - the soft limit (including references, and other additional materials) is 8 pages and a hard limit is 10 pages. Papers longer than 10 pages will be rejected without reviewing.
  • extended abstract - at most 2 pages.

Double-blind review

Papers will be selected via a double-blind peer-review process (the reviewers will not know the identities of the authors, and vice versa). It will be up to the authors to ensure the proper anonymization of their paper. In particular, the first page cannot include names or affiliations of the authors. When referring to one's own work, use the third person, rather than the first person. Violation of the above rules may lead to rejection without review.

Submit your paper

EasyChair submission system is now open. submit your paper
Click here to view the conference poster.

Scientific committee

  • Przemyslaw Biecek
  • Krzysztof Dembczyński
  • Eyke Hüllermeier
  • Romuald Janik
  • Stanisław Jastrzębski
  • Maciej A. Nowak
  • Igor Podolak
  • Khalid Saeed
  • Jacek Tabor
  • Michał Woźniak

Organizing committee

  • Jakub Chłędowski
  • Łukasz Maziarka
  • Krzysztof Misztal
  • Aleksandra Nowak
  • Przemysław Spurek
  • Łukasz Struski
  • Marek Śmieja
  • Bartosz Zieliński


Contact with organizing committee:

Łukasz Maziarka